Admin Manual
Member Management
last updated: 2009-01-18 07:08:42

Member management refers to the cancellation, suspension, and payment information updating of members within your group.  These processes refer to use of both PayPal and AuthorizeNet, yearly and monthly members, customer, admin, or payment gateway initiated transactions.

We have tried to make this as clear and painless as possible to understand.  Likewise, we have tried to make these procedures as automated and simple as possible so you can focus on getting more members and less on member management.

First, let's define some terms:

AuthorizeNet. This is one of the two choices for payment gateways you can use with iGrOOps.  It is by far the world's most popular gateway (next to PayPal) and compatible with just about every merchant account.

PayPal.  This is a free payment gateway that is simple to use.  it is not as integrated as AuthorizeNet, meaning, your members will have to leave your site and go into PayPal to pay, plus some people do not understand that they can use credit card with PayPal, so they are turned away from joining.

Cancellation.  The permanent termination of a membership.  All member's information is removed from your member database, but all posts and content previously uploaded by member will remain.

Suspension.  The temporary denial of access of a member to your membership site.  When a member is suspended, they do not have access to the site as a member, only a guest.  It is easy to restore member access.

CC Update.  This is "credit card update".  if the credit card is about to expire, the payment gateway will notify the script that an update by the member is required.  Or, if the member wants to change the CC on file, the member can notify the payment gateway directly of such change.

Yearly Membership.  A membership that is paid in advance for one year.  This membership has a start and a finish date.  At the end of the one year, the member will be denied access to the site as a member unless he or she renews.

Monthly Membership.  A membership that is paid on a monthly basis.  These memberships are ongoing with a start date but NO end date.  It is up to the member to cancel the membership.  Monthly memberships with AuuthorizeNet require the ARB (automatic recurring billing) service.

Member Initiated.  When the member takes the initial action to suspend membership, cancel membership, or update their credit card information.

Admin Initiated.  When the admin takes the initial action to suspend or cancel a member's membership.

Payment Gateway Initiated.  When the member's credit card is declined or the expiration date is coming up, the gateway will notify the script to take action based on the notification.

We will explain each of the following possibilities in detail.  Click on the link to be taken to the area with the process described in detail.

These procedures below are a work in progress.  If no procedure exists, it is a manual process.  We are working on 100% automation and should have this section complete shortly!

  • AuthorizeNet > Cancellation > Yearly Membership > Member Initiated
  • AuthorizeNet > Cancellation > Yearly Membership > Admin Initiated
  • AuthorizeNet > Cancellation > Monthly Membership > Member Initiated
  • AuthorizeNet > Cancellation > Monthly Membership > Admin Initiated
  • AuthorizeNet > Cancellation > Monthly Membership > Payment Gateway Initiated
  • AuthorizeNet > Suspension > Yearly Membership > Member Initiated
  • AuthorizeNet > Suspension > Yearly Membership > Admin Initiated
  • AuthorizeNet > Suspension > Monthly Membership > Member Initiated
  • AuthorizeNet > Suspension > Monthly Membership > Admin Initiated
  • AuthorizeNet > Suspension > Monthly Membership > Payment Gateway Initiated
  • AuthorizeNet > CC Update > Monthly Membership > Member Initiated
  • AuthorizeNet > CC Update > Monthly Membership > Payment Gateway Initiated
  • PayPal > Cancellation > Yearly Membership > Member Initiated
  • PayPal > Cancellation > Yearly Membership > Admin Initiated
  • PayPal > Cancellation > Monthly Membership > Member Initiated
  • PayPal > Cancellation > Monthly Membership > Admin Initiated
  • PayPal > Cancellation > Monthly Membership > Payment Gateway Initiated
  • PayPal > Suspension > Yearly Membership > Member Initiated
  • PayPal > Suspension > Yearly Membership > Admin Initiated
  • PayPal > Suspension > Monthly Membership > Member Initiated
  • PayPal > Suspension > Monthly Membership > Admin Initiated
  • PayPal > Suspension > Monthly Membership > Payment Gateway Initiated
  • PayPal > CC Update > Monthly Membership > Member Initiated
  • PayPal > CC Update > Monthly Membership > Payment Gateway Initiated

Cancellations 

There will, unfortunately, be members who no longer want to continue with membership -- it is part of the business.

Members can either cancel their own membership online, or you, as the administrator, can cancel membership for them.

There are two general ways all members can cancel their own membership to your iGrOOp.

  1. Click the cancel membership icon in the "my iGrOOps" listing of all their iGrOOps.  This will return a "are you sure you want to cancel membership to this iGrOOp?" message.  When the member confirms "yes", they are immediately removed from your group, and a notice is sent to all administrators with the members information.
  2. Click the link to cancel membership that appears under the "Group Specific" information while a member is editing their profile.  This will return a "are you sure you want to cancel membership to this iGrOOp?" message.  When the member confirms "yes", they are immediately removed from your group, and a notice is sent to all administrators with the members information.

To cancel a membership on behalf of a member

  1. use the "see group members" tool
  2. select the member you wish to cancel and open up his/her profile
  3. select "Delete this member from your iGrOOp (permanent)"
  4. click the "update member info" button

When a member is cancelled or cancels, although their profile is removed from the group, all of the contributions such as postings, blogs, galleries, etc. will remain.  These are NOT deleted.

If you are using the affiliate module, and a member cancels or is cancelled who is the result of an affiliate, that affiliate will automatically no longer get commission for that account.

Member Suspensions

You can suspend a membership for many reasons.


Copyright 2013 iGrOOp-Sites, LLC. All rights reserved.